Home
entries friends calendar user info Previous Previous Next Next
My Pet Goat - "To: Dear darling"

Advertisement

mrscake
[info]mrscake
Add to Memories
Tell a Friend
"To: Dear darling"
Today, I got a "greeting card" that appeared to be from 123Greetings.com. There were a few suspicious things about it. For one thing, the header was a little strange.

To: Dear darling,

Message: i hope you like this card that i have made only for you

Uh huh. The links didn't point to 123Greeting.com at all. Rather, the link looked like http://1077724866/e-card.html , which would translate to 64.60.198.194 . Sho 'nuff, when I checked that out, the "greeting card" itself was at http://64.60.198.194/GreetingCardNr0410112528543.flash.exe . Riiiiight.

The IP itself mapped to 64-60-198-194.cust.telepacific.net , so I decided to do my good deed for the day by calling Telepacific customer support and reporting an apparent phishing/Trojan scheme associated with a machine on their network. The tech support technician insisted that it was no problem at all; someone had just sent me a greeting card, and I didn't have to open it. I tried explaining that why this *did* seem like a problem, but he didn't seem to be too concerned. Would he have taken me more seriously if I were male? I don't know.

Note: The sender was apparently 80.57.9.62 (g9062.upc-g.chello.nl), which is not designated as a permitted sender by the e-cards@123greetings.com domain. Site Meter

Tags: ,
Current Mood: irate

Comments
From: [info]ex_rodentrag913 Date: June 16th, 2006 04:29 pm (UTC) (Link)
But darling, I really did make that card only for you.

From: [info]ex_rodentrag913 Date: June 16th, 2006 04:31 pm (UTC) (Link)
And about the male thing, ... he may or may not have taken you more seriously. Low level technicians are morons that are paid $12 an hour. You could put a well-published guy with a PhD in front of him and he probably wouldn't take him seriously.

mrscake From: [info]mrscake Date: June 16th, 2006 04:43 pm (UTC) (Link)
True - maybe I was a little prickly. Dealing with the guy was pretty frustrating, though.
From: [info]ex_rodentrag913 Date: June 16th, 2006 08:30 pm (UTC) (Link)
Why do you think I hated CITES so much anyway? It's the same IT department attitude. I suspect it might be amplified 10% for women, but consider also that more women are tech illiterate than men.

I can't back that up with facts, but I suspect it may be true and am asking you to accept the statement on faith. I'm just extrapolating from how it was 20:1 men:women in the college of engineering.

mrscake From: [info]mrscake Date: June 17th, 2006 12:00 am (UTC) (Link)
Do you suppose Telepacific also has white vans? :)
mrscake From: [info]mrscake Date: June 16th, 2006 04:42 pm (UTC) (Link)
How sweet of you, darling!
From: (Anonymous) Date: June 18th, 2006 06:39 pm (UTC) (Link)

Me too...

although instead of going about it that way, I just googled 1077724866 and stumbled upon your site.

mrscake From: [info]mrscake Date: June 18th, 2006 10:07 pm (UTC) (Link)

Re: Me too...

Thanks. I just got yet another one today, and the Trojan's still up on that site. I sent it to the FTC spam address and will probably go ahead and report it to CERT. It's unfortunate that Telepacific still hasn't done anything about the situation.
From: (Anonymous) Date: June 19th, 2006 01:05 am (UTC) (Link)

I got one, too!

I received the same message this evening, and went through the exact same mental process. Actually, I began by visiting the 123greeting.com site (not following the link, just in a new browser), and was completely unsurprised that their site reported the link as an invalid card number.

I also noticed that the link was misdirected to download a file from a distinctly non-123greeting.com-related IP address. And while the link looked like [somethingsomethingsomething].flash, the file that came down the pipe was [somethingsomethingsomething].flash.exe. As one nice touch, the icon associated with the file is a nice, professional-looking rose.

Oddly, both Symantec Antivirus and Ad-Aware seem to see no problem with the file.

My analysis will continue - feel free to email me with info: djs10@po.cwru.edu - or visit my website: www.djstein.com

- David Stein
mrscake From: [info]mrscake Date: June 19th, 2006 07:39 am (UTC) (Link)

Re: I got one, too!

Thanks - my followup post is at http://mrscake.livejournal.com/168996.html
greenday_gd From: [info]greenday_gd Date: June 19th, 2006 11:48 pm (UTC) (Link)
I downloaded it. *Cries* I can't believe I was so stupid. Do you know anyway I can get it off at all?

Thank You. =]

P.S- I also logged the IP on the file while it was downloading.
mrscake From: [info]mrscake Date: June 20th, 2006 12:57 am (UTC) (Link)
I put some suggestions up at http://mrscake.livejournal.com/169815.html . Bear in mind that I'm not a security expert.
12 comments or Leave a comment
profile
MrsCake
User: [info]mrscake
Name: MrsCake
calendar
Back January 2009
123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
links
page summary
tags

Advertisement

Customize